Russell County Rural Water District #3 provides safe, reliable drinking water to the following 4 counties in Central Kansas: 7 townships in Russell County, 11 townships in Barton County, 3 townships in Rush County and 1 township in Ellis County. The district covers approximately 415 square miles with approximately 400 miles of water lines ranging from 1.5 inch to 6 inch, 6 standpipes and 2 booster stations. The long axis of the district from east to west is 36 miles and 25 miles north to south. Much of the history behind the the establishement of RWD #3 has been lost but one document was found while cleaning out a box of old blue prints. This document was from the dedication ceremony of the current RWD #3 office in Susank KS. on May 6, 1995.  /Portals/russell3/documents/reports/RUSSRWD3_HISTORY_1995.pdf